Updated

Alternatives

Frame.io alternative for sending files

The best Frame.io alternative for sending files is a file transfer service for the originals, with Frame.io kept for review, because Frame.io is built around comments and approvals and keeps every file in paid storage until you delete it. We'd send camera originals with Tranzfer or MASV and review the cuts in Frame.io. Most teams that switch end up using both.

We make Tranzfer, so read this with that in mind. Frame.io does things we don't do at all, and we'd rather you know where the line sits than switch for the wrong reason. Every fact about Frame.io links to Adobe's own pages.

Is Frame.io a file transfer tool?

Partly. Frame.io's homepage describes it as a place to "Upload creative files, manage projects, assign tasks, get precise feedback, and share your work." Files go in and people comment on them frame by frame. Clients can download from a share link if you allow it, and Adobe's share links guide says they get the original or a proxy.

So it can deliver files. It's just priced and built as a workspace, not a pipe.

Why do people look for a Frame.io alternative for sending files?

Storage fills up. Frame.io keeps files until you delete them. Retention policies that move old files to the trash are listed only on Enterprise. On Frame.io's pricing page, Free has 2 GB of storage, Pro has 2 TB plus 2 TB per extra member, and Team has 3 TB plus 2 TB per extra member. A two-camera UHD shoot in ProRes 422 HQ runs about 318 GB an hour per camera, by Apple's ProRes white paper. Three hours of that is close to 2 TB, a whole Pro plan, for footage that only needed to reach one editor.

It's priced per person. Pro is $15 and Team is $25 per member a month. A transfer only charges the sender.

Browser resume isn't documented. Frame.io's upload guide says the upload sheet lets you "pause, resume, and cancel uploads." It doesn't say what happens after a closed tab or a dropped connection. Frame.io Drive, their desktop tool, is clearer. Adobe's Drive guide says "If there are any interruptions, the transfer will resume your upload or download with no loss of progress."

Resolve. Adobe's V4 guide says Frame.io V4 doesn't support DaVinci Resolve. A Resolve editor gets less from Frame.io than a Premiere one.

How do the options compare?

The last column is a heavy month: four 100 GB deliveries, one live at a time. Prices are USD on monthly billing, checked 9 October 2026.

ServiceBest forPriceHow bigInterrupted upload4 × 100 GB a month
Frame.ioReview and approval: frame-accurate comments on cuts, with the files kept in one placeFree for 2 GB, then Pro $15 and Team $25 per member a monthFiles up to 5 TB. Storage is 2 GB on Free, 2 TB on Pro and 3 TB on Team, plus 2 TB per extra member.Not stated for the browser. Frame.io Drive and the Mac app resume.$15 on Pro for one member, and the 400 GB stays in your 2 TB until you delete it
TranzferHundreds of gigabytes from a browser, on a connection you don't trustFree, then $15, $29 or $69 a month, flat20 GB live at once on Free, up to 3 TB on Studio. No separate per-file cap.Retries after a drop and carries on after sleep. After a crash or closed tab, pick the same files and only the missing parts upload.$15 on Starter
MASVTeams that want a desktop app and only pay when they send$0.25 per GB after 15 GB free each month, or annual bundles from $58 a month for 250 GBNo cap on how much you sendRetries through network drops. A closed tab or crash in the browser starts over; the desktop app recovers.$96.25 on Pay as you go
Dropbox TransferSending up to 100 or 250 GB when you already pay for DropboxComes with Dropbox plans. Check their plans page for the current price.2 GB on Basic, 50 GB on Plus, 100 GB on Essentials and Business, 250 GB on Business Plus or with the Replay add-onNot stated on their Transfer help pagesFits Essentials or Business; see their plans
Google DriveFiles that should stay put, shared with people already on Google15 GB free. More through Google One or Workspace; check Google's pricing.Files up to 5 TB. 15 GB of free storage per Google account, shared with Gmail and Photos.Not documented for browser uploads. Drive for desktop retries files later.Depends on your storage plan

The alternatives for delivery, ranked

1. Tranzfer

Best for Hundreds of gigabytes from a browser, on a connection you don't trust.

Price
Free, then $15, $29 or $69 a month, flat
How big
20 GB live at once on Free, up to 3 TB on Studio. No separate per-file cap.
If the upload is interrupted
Retries after a drop and carries on after sleep. After a crash or closed tab, pick the same files and only the missing parts upload.
How long links last
Up to 3, 7 or 14 days by plan, then the files are deleted

Good

  • Every plan resumes, Free included
  • Flat monthly price, not per GB
  • Folders arrive sorted; desktop Chrome and Edge save a whole delivery into one folder

Watch out

  • No desktop app and no team seats yet
  • Links last 14 days at most
  • 3 TB live at once is the ceiling
  • New. Tested at 100 GB with eight failures forced on purpose, not years of production

Sources: Tranzfer pricing, How resume works

2. MASV

Best for Teams that want a desktop app and only pay when they send.

Price
$0.25 per GB after 15 GB free each month, or annual bundles from $58 a month for 250 GB
How big
No cap on how much you send
If the upload is interrupted
Retries through network drops. A closed tab or crash in the browser starts over; the desktop app recovers.
How long links last
You set it. 5 days of storage are included, then $0.07 per GB a month.

Good

  • Desktop app recovers from most interruptions, reboots included
  • Portals collect files from clients and can forward them to S3 or Frame.io
  • Pay only for what you send

Watch out

  • Per-GB pricing adds up. 1 TB in a month is about $246 pay as you go
  • In the browser, "if you close your MASV browser tab or your computer crashes you will have to start over"
  • A credit card is needed even for the free 15 GB

Sources: MASV pricing, MASV on interrupted uploads, MASV Portals

3. Dropbox Transfer

Best for Sending up to 100 or 250 GB when you already pay for Dropbox.

Price
Comes with Dropbox plans. Check their plans page for the current price.
How big
2 GB on Basic, 50 GB on Plus, 100 GB on Essentials and Business, 250 GB on Business Plus or with the Replay add-on
If the upload is interrupted
Not stated on their Transfer help pages
How long links last
7 days on Basic, Family and Plus. Other plans pick a date, 30 days by default.

Good

  • Already there if your team lives in Dropbox
  • Recipients don't need a Dropbox account
  • Passwords and download counts on the business plans

Watch out

  • Basic tops out at 2 GB and Plus at 50 GB a transfer
  • Dropbox warns that browser uploads over 375 GB may time out and points you to the desktop app
  • Their help pages don't say what happens to an interrupted Transfer upload

Sources: Dropbox Transfer help, Dropbox upload limits, Dropbox plans

4. Google Drive

Best for Files that should stay put, shared with people already on Google.

Price
15 GB free. More through Google One or Workspace; check Google's pricing.
How big
Files up to 5 TB. 15 GB of free storage per Google account, shared with Gmail and Photos.
If the upload is interrupted
Not documented for browser uploads. Drive for desktop retries files later.
How long links last
Links don't expire. Work and school accounts can set an end date for people added by name.

Good

  • Most people already have an account
  • Handles single files up to 5 TB
  • Anyone with the link can download without signing in

Watch out

  • It's storage, so files stay and count against your space until you delete them
  • Workspace accounts can upload 750 GB a day; Google gives personal accounts a daily limit without a number
  • Google doesn't document what a browser upload does after a closed tab or a dropped connection
  • A file many people download from one public link can hit a download quota for up to 24 hours

Sources: Drive file limits, Workspace upload limits, Drive sync and upload errors, Drive sharing, Drive download quota, Google One plans

How do teams use a transfer and Frame.io together?

The usual split is simple. Originals go by transfer, cuts go to Frame.io.

  1. The shooter sends the whole card folder to the editor with a transfer. With Tranzfer the folder arrives sorted, and the files are deleted when the link ends.
  2. The editor cuts, then uploads a review export to Frame.io. By Apple's numbers, a 10-minute 1080p export in ProRes Proxy is under 3 GB.
  3. The client comments on the frame in Frame.io and approves.
  4. The final master goes back to the client by transfer, or through Frame.io if they want it kept there.

MASV can also forward files from a portal into Frame.io, if you want uploads to land there without a manual step. MASV counts forwarded files as data usage, like a download.

Which one should you pick?

  • You hand camera originals to an editor. Tranzfer. Pro holds 1 TB live at once for $29 a month, and only the sender pays.
  • You want delivery to land straight in Frame.io. MASV with a portal.
  • Your team already pays for Dropbox or Google Workspace and deliveries are under 100 GB: use what you have.

When is Frame.io still the better pick?

For anything that involves feedback, honestly. Tranzfer has no previews, no playback, no comments and no review.

  • Comments pinned to the frame, inside Premiere and Final Cut Pro. Frame.io's pricing page lists both integrations.
  • Camera to Cloud, which Frame.io's pricing page lists on Free. Takes upload from set as soon as the director calls cut.
  • Files kept for the life of the project. Tranzfer links last 14 days at most.
  • Single files up to 5 TB, by Adobe's upload guide. Tranzfer's ceiling is 3 TB live at once.
  • Passphrases and expiry dates on share links, from Pro up. Tranzfer has no password-protected links.

If you're the one receiving footage, our guide to sending large video files to an editor covers how to get it prepared before it ships.

Questions people ask

Can I use Frame.io to send files to a client?

Yes. Frame.io share links work without an account, and if you allow downloads the client can take the original or a proxy. The files stay in your Frame.io storage until you delete them.

How much storage does Frame.io include?

Frame.io lists 2 GB on Free, 2 TB on Pro plus 2 TB per extra member, and 3 TB on Team plus 2 TB per extra member. Pro is $15 and Team $25 per member a month.

Do Frame.io uploads resume?

The web upload sheet has pause and resume buttons, but Adobe doesn't say what happens after a closed tab or a dropped connection. Frame.io Drive says it resumes interrupted transfers with no loss of progress.

Does Frame.io work with DaVinci Resolve?

Adobe's V4 guide says Frame.io V4 doesn't support DaVinci Resolve.

Got a big one to send?

Tranzfer sends hundreds of gigabytes from the browser and picks up where it left off when the connection drops. Free holds 20 GB at once, no card.